Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

VegaPlus
Topic Author

Should I learn Scilab or R?

January 5th, 2011, 3:20 pm

Hi,I am a graduate and would like to prepare for future interviews in quantitative fields (front office quant, model quant, stat arb trading, ...). I don't know Matlab so I'm looking for a free alternative solution. I know that Scilab is very similar to Matlab but there exist some differences in particular functions. So I don't know if "Scilab" on a CV would be seen as "Matlab"... But I can see on job offers that many HF/banks are asking for R knowledge. As R is free as well, I'm wondering if it is no better to learn R than Scilab.I don't have a particular need right now, it's really for upcoming interviews. But I have a good knowledge of Java or C++.And let's say I go for R, what kinf of questions can they ask me to check my R knowledge so that I can go straight to the key points intead of wasting time on useless features.Thanks.

mxyzptlk

January 5th, 2011, 6:59 pm

Without a doubt learn R. You may also consider Octave as an open-source alternative to Matlab with very similar syntax.Since you mention many types of quant positions, it is hard to say what the proper subset of R is. Take a look at the CRAN Task View: Empirical Finance for an idea of relevant packages. You may also want to learn about integrating R & C++ and possibly R & Excel. There are some good books on R such as general (The R Book by Crawley, R in a Nutshell by Adler) and many specific ones (like Springer series which has time series, bayesian, monte carlo, ...).

Hansi

January 5th, 2011, 7:13 pm