SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

Marsden
Topic Author

An Annecdotal Summary of the Occupation of Iraq

July 24th, 2003, 12:26 pm

QuoteQais al-Salman stood meekly beside the vehicle. He was carrying his Danish passport, Danish driving licence and medical records.But let him tell his own story. "A civilian car came up with American soldiers in it. Then more soldiers in military vehicles. I told them I didn't understand what had happened, that I was a scientific researcher. But they made me lie down in the street, tied my arms behind me with plastic-and-steel cuffs and tied up my feet and put me in one of their vehicles."The next bit of his story carries implications for our own journalistic profession. "After 10 minutes in the vehicle, I was taken out again. There were journalists with cameras. The Americans untied me, then made me lie on the road again. Then, in front of the cameras, they tied my hands and feet all over again and put me back in the vehicle."From Robert Fisk, "The Ugly Truth Of America's Camp Cropper, A Story To Shame Us All," The Independent.
Last edited by Marsden on July 23rd, 2003, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hamilton

July 24th, 2003, 12:49 pm

Robert Fisk, The wonderful satirist Mark Steyn [www.marksteyn.com] has written some wonderful words on the incomparableChicken Little of journalism, Robert Fisk. He wrote some truly hilarious columns on Afghanistan and Iraq.

Marsden
Topic Author

July 24th, 2003, 12:58 pm

Hamilton, Robert Fisk is a hundred times the man that you or Mark Steyn can ever hope to be. He is so far beyond you and your ilk that it is no surprise that the most that you can come up with to say about him (in your pathological need to say something about everything, regardless that your comments will serve mostly to show what a shallow and befuddled old men you are) is babbling mockery.Regards,Marsden.

Omar

July 24th, 2003, 12:59 pm