Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

Canta86
Topic Author

p-quant vs developers

July 17th, 2015, 8:13 pm

Hi all,I would like to have some feedback and suggestions about a possible career for a final year phd student in financial maths (stoch calculus, derivatives, etc).I know that possibilities are many, and people should do what they like the most. But I'm asking suggestions in view of the future developments in the market. (For example, looking for a job in derivatives pricing probably is not a good idea).It seems that in this moment there is a big demand of p-quants and data scientists, as well as quant-developers. (assuming I have basic knowledge of both statistics and C++ programming)Which one to go for?

Hansi

p-quant vs developers

July 17th, 2015, 10:43 pm

No one in industry uses p-quants so I had to google it but p-quants vs data scientists vs quant-developers those are not mutually exclusive, just labels.You don't know anything about the industry nor the possible roles because you haven't been there, what kind of work out of the stuff you've already studied interests you? That might be a better indicator for suggestions.

Canta86
Topic Author

p-quant vs developers

July 18th, 2015, 4:50 pm

Thanks for the reply,I knew it was difficult to write in an appropriate way what I wanted to ask :) ... so, sorry for the strange "p-quant" label.Actually I just wanted to know what the actual market want the most:people who use statistics skills for estimation,evaluation,predictions etc? Or quants who mainly focus on quantitative software development?(Or something else?)

Hansi

p-quant vs developers

July 19th, 2015, 10:32 am