Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

tthrift
Topic Author

iv for all and all for iv

December 2nd, 2014, 4:49 am

This thread is being started to encourage a conversation that started in a book thread and to invite others to contribute.The topic is implied volatility implementations that are robust and accurate ( after which fast would be helpful ).I'm a retail trader of index options that has been adding Greeks to a spreadsheet. I found several good VBA implementations of implied volatility that use bisection or newton-raphson approaches in books by Paul Wilmott and Espen Haug. One of those approaches or some small variation of them look like they should work great for tracking and adjusting theta positive income trades in a spreadsheet.As time permits I would like to estimate the expectation of a set of trading rules/guidelines.More involved simulations seem to require the calculation to be as robust and accurate as practical.So putting my big toe in the water, I'm all ears.Several people were kind enough to have already suggested a few alternatives.I will try to summarize the current state of those conversations in future posts.

tthrift
Topic Author

December 2nd, 2014, 4:59 am