Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

linust
Topic Author

Functional programming

November 14th, 2004, 7:39 pm

Inspired by the APL thread I though I'd bring up a topic that I've been thinking about for a while now:How widespread is the use of functional languages like Haskell and OCaml in quant finance? I get the feeling that many of the models and algorithms discussed here could be expressed very neatly and nicely in declarative form, being highly mathematical. Of course, performance is often an issue but there have been plenty of development in that area (OCaml is a good example).I'm a computer scientist myself and it would be interesting to hear what people from other backgrounds have to say.

MichaelA

Functional programming

November 17th, 2004, 6:24 am

I haven't done any functional programming since 1994, so have to admit I may be a little out-of-date, but the impression I got was that while it's quite good whenever you need a proof of program correctness - particularly in safety critical applications (like what to do when a nuclear power plant is about to go critical), it's rarely used in any other non-academic environments.I did however find this...http://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/wadler/re ... tmlMichael

Clopinette

Functional programming

November 19th, 2004, 12:18 pm

"I haven't done any functional programming since 1994..."Well neither do I!But it seems to me that you can now do in C++ what you can do in CAML if you use templates.Look at Boost C++ library for example: The metaprogramming in there reminds me a lot of CAML.

JasperPrune

Functional programming

December 10th, 2004, 1:56 pm

Simon Peyton Jones (one of the creators of Haskell) has a fun paper on using functional languages to describe option contracts. http://research.microsoft.com/Users/sim ... htmHaskell is great fun - but in my experience it's not widely used outside academia.

Cuchulainn

Functional programming

December 11th, 2004, 10:16 am