Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

Bergomi
Topic Author

Securities Strats at GS: Summer

January 31st, 2017, 10:57 am

Hello everyone, next summer I will intern at GS as a Securities Strats summer Analyst. I have some experience in the industry (HFT) but not so much in actual highly quantitative things (I took a financial maths course last year though). I wonder if someone went through this summer, what did you do ? Do you have any advice to transform this summer in a full time offer ? I am ready to work/study things before the summer starts so that I can perform well. But what should I study ? Stochastic volatility models, GPU programming, SQL, Machine Learning ?
If some of you work as Strats at GS, what would you like to see from a summer intern and what would you ask from him ?

Thanks guys

Alan

Re: Securities Strats at GS: Summer

February 3rd, 2017, 7:39 pm

My two cents without having worked there, but having seen some of their guys in action.

Their ideal guy/gal would be somebody with enough technical knowledge and presentation abilities to get up in front of an institutional client and make a presentation about X. Here X  will be their latest thinking on some equity strategy or whatever.

The goal is to convince that client that GS is a deep expert on X, and will involve many buzzwords, and persuasively sound like it will lead to better returns or solve some problem of the clients. Indeed, it might. In any event, fundamentally, they want to earn or retain that client's business: brokerage, asset management, whatever.   

So, my advice is to learn as much as you can about the "big picture" aspects of the industry, so that you can ask some good questions once you get there.

ISayMoo

February 3rd, 2017, 9:18 pm

Shorter version: learn to bullshit people.

Bergomi
Topic Author

February 4th, 2017, 8:50 am