Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

multivariatecopula
Topic Author

Which entry level job to take to set up a buy-side front-office quant career?

April 18th, 2019, 9:51 pm

Hi all,
Recently, I've gotten some pretty good news in terms of job offers. For background, I am a math undergrad at a semi-target. Here is the job situation:
  • (back-office) model validation analyst internship at major i-bank (received offer)
  • quantitative analyst at small startup-ish prop firm (passed all technical interview rounds, just have one more final round with a trader)
  • data scientist at tech startup (still on coding challenge part of interview)
  • data scientist at optiver (also still on coding challenge part)
For the optiver role I do not estimate a high probability of making it through all the rounds. The situation now is I have 2 weeks to accept the offer from the major i-bank, and I will ask the startup prop firm to schedule a final interview soon.

Basically:
  • If the startup prop firm don't get back to me in 2 weeks should I take the i-bank offer?
  • If I get both offers should I turn it down to still keep rolling the dice for optiver?
My ultimate career goal is QR/QA front office role at a hedge fund (doesnt matter if its one of the big ones like Twosig, DEShaw, etc. or a small one that's doing well).
What do y'all think?
Update: Just got another QA first round interview with a hedge fund that I applied to via college career portal, so throw that into the mix as well.

bearish

Re: Which entry level job to take to set up a buy-side front-office quant career?

April 19th, 2019, 12:51 am

You use the term "internship" about your actual offer. We are talking a summer job here? That lowers the stakes slightly relative to a first full time job. Please clarify! 

multivariatecopula
Topic Author

Re: Which entry level job to take to set up a buy-side front-office quant career?

April 19th, 2019, 4:15 am