SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

noexpert
Topic Author

How to find an internship ? Is it too late ?(IVY phd)

April 27th, 2007, 5:33 pm

Hi all,I am new to this forum. I am doing my phd in engineering from an ivy league school. I dont have any formal degree in finance but I have a very strong mathematical background and I am really interested in finance. Recently I realized that I should do an internship just to get an idea of this industry. It seems that I am very late but I was wondering if people here can give me some ideas on how to get a good internship in NY.Let me know what you guys think. Any help will be greatly appreciated !

KackToodles

April 27th, 2007, 7:22 pm

think about it this way: if you start now, you are an early bird for next year!

noexpert
Topic Author

April 27th, 2007, 8:20 pm

Thanks KackToodles, but I want to try it this summer only ! Do headhunters help getting internships? If yes, where/how to find these HH's.

spaceinvader

April 27th, 2007, 8:32 pm

Talk to alums in the industry. Try CS, i think their program is still open. Bonne chance

noexpert
Topic Author

April 27th, 2007, 8:54 pm

Thanks spaceinvader! I looked up theri website. It seems that they dont have anything left for US (Am I correct?) Can you suggest me how to find positions in CS apart from talking to alums. thanks again

spaceinvader

April 27th, 2007, 9:02 pm

wish i knew, sorry matebonne chance

TraderJoe

April 27th, 2007, 9:32 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: noexpertThanks KackToodles, but I want to try it this summer only ! Do headhunters help getting internships? If yes, where/how to find these HH's.DCFC aka Dom?

noexpert
Topic Author

April 28th, 2007, 12:23 am

Thanks Traderjoe. I have mailed DCFC. Lets see how it goes !

meteor

April 28th, 2007, 6:22 pm