SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

PDiCarterY
Topic Author

Applied Math or Statistics?

November 12th, 2007, 4:34 am

I am just wondering about the following:1) Which one is better recruited at IBs?2) Which program is more relevant for trading?3) Which one is better for working as a quant?Thanks in advance.

ChicagoGuy

November 24th, 2007, 3:26 am

Im just a grad student in applied math but keep in mind many people look at statistics as an area of applied math. If you go into applied math you can always specialize in statistics, but you cant specialize in applied math as a whole if you go into statistics (you can just specialize in an area of statistics). Same with physics.

meteor

November 24th, 2007, 5:06 am

To answer your questionThe way I see it:Stat: some knowledge of stoch calculus but in depth knowledge of parameter estimation, stat modelling (ie explaining/modelling data).Applied math: (stoch calculus / probability specialization): strong knowledge of stoch calculus but weak knowledge of stat techniques and modelling.1) It doesnt really matter if you are good and as long as you combine your degree with some knowledge in finance.2) It depends what type of trading you are doing. If you are working with derivative product I would be inclined to say applied math. If you are doing stat arb of course stat is better.3) It depends what you define as quant. If by quant you mean pricing model developmen I would say applied math. If you mean by quant developping quant strategies then stat is better.Overall just choose what topic you like the best to study (as I dont think it is a good idea to pursue some degree just because of the career opening it will give you)
Last edited by meteor on November 23rd, 2007, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DominicConnor

November 24th, 2007, 9:48 am