Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

hitodama
Topic Author

thinking about quant work in the future, how should I approach programming

January 13th, 2008, 5:37 pm

I'm currently a first year graduate student in a mathematics Ph.D program in the US (I'm planning to specialize in mathematical physics). I understand that the job market can be tough in academia so I want to start accumulating a more diverse skill set, especially skills that come in useful in quantitative finance. The one area that I think I'm weakest would be programming, I have played around with programming and I'm pretty computer literate but I haven't implemented any particularly complex algorithms or worked on any large programming projects.I want to know what the best approach for me to start getting a more robust programming education would be. Right now the language I'm probably the strongest in is Haskell along with some familiarity with LISP. I really enjoy functional programming but reading the forums it seems that C++ is the language required for the vast majority of jobs. I'm deciding whether I should drop Haskell and start learning C++ from the beginning or if I should keep learning Haskell and maybe start looking at Ocaml and F# as well. I'm at least four years away from beingdone with graduate school so this is a long-term plan.

Dr.Brown

January 13th, 2008, 6:17 pm