Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

melanez
Topic Author

From academics to banking

June 24th, 2008, 10:39 am

DearI apologise if a similar question has been approached in previous threads.I am currently a lecturer in mathematis at a top london university and I an considering to quit for a career in finance. I hold a degree from the Ecole Polytechnique (Paris), a DEA in probability (Paris 6) and a PhD in appplied mathematics. After a postdoc in Cambridge, I managed to take on a lecturership in London. After 2 years I feel like I am not enjoying being an academic. Since I am interested in economics in general and financce in particular, I am considering to apply to banks for a quant position. I have, I believe, an excellent background in probability but I am weak in programming even though I am prepared and eager to learn and to use computational tools. I would be grateful to see if anyone had a similar experience and is willing to share it.Many thanksMoez

TraderJoe

June 24th, 2008, 11:39 am

That's a strong CV.

aiQUANT

June 24th, 2008, 1:09 pm

Have you considered doing an MFE?

TraderJoe

June 24th, 2008, 4:37 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: aiQUANTHave you considered doing an MFE?That's the last thing this guy needs. He'll be stuck in a classroom with a bunch of twenty somethings with a Bachelors degree in economics .

aiQUANT

June 24th, 2008, 5:27 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: TraderJoeQuoteOriginally posted by: aiQUANTHave you considered doing an MFE?That's the last thing this guy needs. He'll be stuck in a classroom with a bunch of twenty somethings with a Bachelors degree in economics .So the classmate thing is an issue? Not so much the relevance/irrelevance of the MFE towards getting what he wants?

katastrofa

June 24th, 2008, 5:40 pm

The classmate thing is an issue because he'll be bored to death while the rest of the group is being taught things he already knows to the core (maths).

HyperGeometric

June 24th, 2008, 5:40 pm