SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

ak2000
Topic Author

Investment Banking Advice OFFERED

February 28th, 2009, 6:24 pm

Hi everyone,I've been working for an investment bank for a few years now and have seen a lot of fresh-graduates / junior talent make it (or not) into banking and the wider finance industry.I am considering writing a couple of free articles to share my thoughts / experience on how to succeed - for those that still want to start their career in banking given recent events.If you are considering starting (or are working) in finance what do you think are the most current / topical issues at the moment for a complete newbie to the sector? If you could ask an investment banking veteran (15 yrs+ experience) one question what would it be?First things that come to my mind:- What are graduate hiring prospects looking like over the next couple of years for large institutions versus boutique banks?- How safe are graduate job offers for 2009 / 2010?Thank you all for your help!

barny

February 28th, 2009, 6:37 pm

Personally I think those first two questions are asked and answered to death in every investment banking related internet forum and in the popular news. Even if you do answer them, what good will it do? Just knowing that the job market is bad doesn't help you get a job. It offers absolutely no value-added. Some questions I would have liked answering when I was a real newbie were:1) What activities should I do to differentiate myself from the crowd?2) What skills will be most useful as a trader/banker/salesman etc.3) What are the most useful theoretical aspects of finance to learn before starting working in markets/corporate finance etc.This sort of thing is most valuable - you give people some information and direction and then they can go away and learn it for themselves and maybe this will lead them to other things during their natural exploration.

deepvalue

February 28th, 2009, 7:09 pm