SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

GiusCo
Topic Author

late 30s... finance or research?

March 27th, 2010, 12:59 pm

Good Morning all,I'm 36, a regular reader of this space and have studied some of the recent books you often praise: the 2 from Joshi, Wilmott's FAQ for quants, Rees' Excel for finance modelling. My background is hard science and engineering -nuclear, materials, simulation- and am just completing a PhD at one of the red bricks here in the UK. With 15 years in betting and 5 in financial spread betting, I'm also directly aware of maths associated to risk, events, probability, return on investment and all this sort of basic stuff.My problem is simple: I do not know yet which career pursue after graduating. So this topic would -in my hope- help to get rid of myths and prejudices about quant finance jobs in London.1) First and foremost, I may have the natural continuation in research at some centre in the UK or Europe (I'm from Italy). Pros are an interesting, good-natured, result & research oriented environment in which I can express myself without great pressure. Cons are a fairly low wage, no enthusing prospects and a very quiet life in some village somewhere in the wilderness, where centres are often located. I'm not a celeb seeker or a fame digger, but like to follow arts and still love being into events (books presentation, poetry reading, theatre)... I'm a quite known writer myself.2) I may put my skills and will into something nearer the money and a buzzy life (that is a quant job, in London). Pros are I've a decent toolbag, I'm able to cope with pressure at international level, I may have something to share as an individual (used to make decisions betting my money, so fundamentally I'm not a gambler at heart), I'm not a pure executor. The main Con I can see is a great amount of braggadocio, self-delusion, wannabe-ism, all very annoying and far from reality but still important (??) and, again, that I'm not a pure executor.So my question to