SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

tavisor
Topic Author

Theoretical Physics Ph.D. looking to get into the Quant business

July 1st, 2010, 11:07 am

Hi,I would like to find some information about getting into Quantitative Finance. As a lifeline I did my undergraduate work in Romania, my doctoral degree in the USA, then I worked as a postdoctoral fellow in Germany. My area of research is theoretical particle physics. I understood from some colleagues that with a background like I have it is possible to get into Quantitative Finance. My problem is that I don't know where to start searching. :-) Any advice is welcome! Thanks a lot!

tavisor
Topic Author

July 1st, 2010, 11:20 am

By the way... everyone is talking about headhunters. How does one find them, or do they find you?

Hansi

July 1st, 2010, 11:28 am

As you're out of the industry with no experience you find them not they you. I recommend just looking for people asking similar questions here in the careers forum, there are dozens of posts just like yours.

ArthurDent

July 1st, 2010, 2:54 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: tavisorBy the way... everyone is talking about headhunters. How does one find them, or do they find you?It's a good filter. If you can't find some recruiters to get you interviews, then you likely don't have the initiative needed to succeed in this line of work.

traderjoe1976

July 1st, 2010, 5:03 pm

You need to go to efinancialcareers.com. Post your resume and then apply for all the jobs which seem to be a decent fit. The headhunters will contact you and arrange interviews for you.

tavisor
Topic Author

July 1st, 2010, 5:06 pm

@Arthur Thx for the response. My line of thinking was... that since they earn money this way, they might just contact potential clients, but I guess they have enough clients. Now I need to find myself some recruiters. @traderjoe Thx for the tip.

lobdellb

July 2nd, 2010, 12:47 am