SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

LC85
Topic Author

Front office requirements

September 12th, 2010, 6:58 pm

Hi thereI'm currently a year away from finishing my PhD in experimental physics and am looking to work as a quant once I finish. I do not have a financial background other than my own personal reading and was hoping to get some opinions on whether I stand a realistic chance of getting a front office position in London? Would I be at a severe disadvantage compared to someone who also has say an MFE or a financial internship?I just wanted to get a feel for how realistic I was being with my ambitions? I'm not too keen on ending up in a middle office position, yet I'm aware of how competitive front office positions are.I'm doing my PhD at a university in the top 10 on this list, have a 1st in Physics from my UG and should have my name on ~10 papers by the time I finish. I think my C++ and VB are pretty solid but would obviously need to sharpen them up before any interviews.Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by LC85 on September 11th, 2010, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

twofish

September 13th, 2010, 1:22 am

QuoteOriginally posted by: LC85I'm currently a year away from finishing my PhD in experimental physics and am looking to work as a quant once I finish. I do not have a financial background other than my own personal reading and was hoping to get some opinions on whether I stand a realistic chance of getting a front office position in London?If you have only limited experience in finance, then how do you know that you really want a front office position. Also, can you explain briefly, what a front office position is? The good/bad news is that physics Ph.D.'s do more or less the same thing in front office/mid-office/back-office.Yes you do have a realistic chance of getting a front office position. The real question is do you want one?
Last edited by twofish on September 12th, 2010, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DevonFangs