SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

yinaway
Topic Author

How can I be a trader?

October 18th, 2010, 1:55 am

I am recently hunting jobs. I got a bunch of interviews for quant positons. But all applications to trading are doomed. Anybody know possible reasons for my jbad job hunting in trading? since like no prop trading firms like me. I have a quantitative background and a fe master degree . I want to be a trader very much yet I don't have track record. I am an international student in US. I really want to know how to break into this field without previous exp. Thanks in advance for your reply.
Last edited by yinaway on October 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mynetself

How can I be a trader?

October 18th, 2010, 7:57 am

Why don't you start off as a quant and then look to move into trading? All the people I've talked to said it is definitely possible and I've also talked to a trader who went quant -> trader -> quant -> trader.

closdubois

How can I be a trader?

October 18th, 2010, 9:30 am

my guess is that your school isn't prestigious enough

Anthis

How can I be a trader?

October 18th, 2010, 4:42 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: yinawayI am recently hunting jobs. I got a bunch of interviews for quant positons. But all applications to trading are doomed. Anybody know possible reasons for my jbad job hunting in trading? since like no prop trading firms like me. I have a quantitative background and a fe master degree . I want to be a trader very much yet I don't have track record. I am an international student in US. I really want to know how to break into this field without previous exp. Thanks in advance for your reply.Spot Head Trader's wife. You know the rest...no need to expand further...

plus

How can I be a trader?

October 18th, 2010, 7:37 pm

When you get rejected you can ask them for some feedback.

linguafranca

How can I be a trader?

October 19th, 2010, 2:59 pm