Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

Maxdot
Topic Author

Quant now or after postdoc?

February 16th, 2011, 11:19 pm

Hi Everyone, I am currently finishing a PhD in theoretical physics at Oxbridge. My PhD work didn't contain any mathematics relevant to finance, but obviously I am capable of learning and I have a lot of C++ programming experience. My first question is, does anyone know how likely it is to be hired for a junior quant position in London with this kind of background and a month or two of studying Hull (or equivalent) under my belt?I have a postdoc offer for a two year position at a less well known uni in Germany, but I think in the long run I would prefer to have a career in finance. My dilemma is whether to take the postdoc offer and use the time there to properly learn the relevant material and possibly publish some quant research (as there are people at the department I would join that do finance related work). Or should I take a risk and decline the offer and look for a quant position now in London? If it makes any difference I would be 29 upon returning form the postdoc.I have a friend who found a quant position after finishing his PhD in physics at my current department with the same background and only some knowledge of Hull. He seems to think it wouldn't be too hard to find a similar position, but obviously it is daunting to turn down a job offer when one has nothing else on the table.Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

barny

February 16th, 2011, 11:35 pm

Surely the obvious thing to do is to try and get some jobs, if you do get one, great, question answered, if you don't, then the post-doc is the obvious thing to do.

Maxdot
Topic Author

February 17th, 2011, 12:08 am