SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

RBLondon1
Topic Author

What exactly does a Quant Trader do??

April 27th, 2011, 10:07 am

I am new to this space and have been doing quite a lot of research into the quant world and how the various different components fit together (pure quant, quant developer, quant trader etc).I have a good (basic but good) understanding of what the pure quants and quant developers do, but can any tell me exactly what a quant trader does (general and day to day)? No one I have asked has come up with a comprehensive and sound answer, and from my understanding the pure quants essentially write the models which seem to do the trading, am I correct in thinking this?? I fully appreciate if this is a tad more simple that the other conversations on here, but any insight would be greatly appreciated.Thanks in advance...

newbanker

April 27th, 2011, 11:09 am

Forgive my boldness, but wouldn't the answer be a union of what a quant does (pure, unpure, doesn't matter) and what a trader does?

RBLondon1
Topic Author

April 27th, 2011, 1:27 pm

thanks for replying newbanker.Perhaps that is the case, can you explain in further detail please?Also, by "unpure quant" do you mean "developer" as opposed to someone that writes the original model?thanks again.
Last edited by RBLondon1 on April 26th, 2011, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AndyNguyen

April 27th, 2011, 2:45 pm

Some reading would not hurthttp://www.markjoshi.com/downloads/advice.pdf

RBLondon1
Topic Author

April 27th, 2011, 2:57 pm