SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

IronLeo
Topic Author

Suggestions for a career shift

January 9th, 2012, 7:43 pm

Hi everyone,I am a first-year PhD student in Theoretical/Mathematical Physics and I am very interested in financial markets too. I would like to change my career after the PhD and pass to the quantitative finance world. I have a good background in pure mathematics like functional analysis and differential geometry but I know nothing about stochastic calculus and very little about numerical analysis. I like informatics and programming but I have very little experience in that: just two months of full-time programming in C++ during my internship at Cern and some basic Php for a website (plus an academic knowledge of Fortran for the computational physics course). My research work now is purely theoretical with no numerical computations. I am seeking for advices for planning my shift to the finance world in two or three years. What do you think is the best to do for me? I was thinking to pursue a Msc in Mathematics & Finance or Financial Engineering after completing the PhD, but what should I do to be sure I will be accepted in those programs in a top university? Do you suggest me to study on my own financial markets and stochastic calculus together with a preparation in C++ programming? I was also wondering if there exists the possibility for a non-paid part-time collaboration with a quantitative research group in finance (like the linear quantitative group of JP Morgan) in order to learn some financial instruments, get experience in programming and enrich my curriculum to find a job in finance maybe even without taking an expensive master after the PhD. I will appreciate very much any suggestion! Thank you Leonardo

croot

January 9th, 2012, 9:12 pm

Is physics really boring?

DevonFangs

January 10th, 2012, 3:28 pm

Hit the basic books (hull, wilmott etc) and learn C++. You will be fine w/o a masters.

DevonFangs

January 10th, 2012, 3:30 pm