SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

JamesRI
Topic Author

Should/could I move in to finance?

March 10th, 2012, 2:58 pm

I've been wanting to make this post for quite a while. Ideally, I'd like to get some feedback from technologists/quants/recruiters as to what my options are in finance in terms of renumeration and growth potential.So, before we start I have to say that I have a bit of an unusual background. I'm a college dropout (which I am fine with). Some people have told me this is an issue when aiming for IBs/hedge funds/... while others have said that they don't really care that much if you have the skills.In terms of skill set, I'm a software developer. My 'main' language is C++ and most of the work that I've done has been in C-like languages. We're talking C/C++/Objective-C/PHP here, with moderate knowledge of Java (+JNI) and Python. My background so far has been in game and mobile development, but can pick up new things areas fast. Here's a short overview of some of the things that I've built (solo):- Neural network based motion recognition library for a game in C++.- Multi platform game engine technology for consoles and mobile devices in C++. This includes writing a graphics renderer, audio drivers, animation library, custom binary data formats, ...- Reverse engineered a proprietary voip protocol, wrote a portable C++ library, got it running on the iPhone and wrote a mobile UI for it.- Ported a C++ game emulator to Android, rewrote the renderer and added a mobile UI. Java/JNI and C++ combo.- High performance/low latency C++ socket servers, some cryptography, lots of multithreaded code, ..... and plenty more.While my math is not 'perfect', I really have no issue with reading papers and translating those concepts in to code. Usually I can pick up stuff pretty fast, however, I think my technical skills are more valuable than my math ones. I'm currently working as a mobile consultant making pretty good money. I also have some web based projects that