SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

creditRisky
Topic Author

Work visa/permit in Canada

June 27th, 2012, 7:02 pm

I am an international student and I got my PhD in the US. Does anybody know how difficult it is to get a work visa in Canada, assuming that I have an offer?Thanks!

quantmeh

June 27th, 2012, 7:47 pm

get the permanent residence, it's easy

creditRisky
Topic Author

June 27th, 2012, 7:57 pm

Is it? How long would that take compared to the regular work visa?

quantinenergies

June 27th, 2012, 10:51 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: quantmehget the permanent residence, it's easyQuantmeh, I am always amazed by how confident you are with things you clearly don't understand. Can you tell us how easy it is? FYI, they changed rules a lot in last few years. It is not easy anymore. And, even before it wasn't that easy for people as OP. And, btw, even if it was easy, it takes at least 18 month from US to get the permanent residence. IMHO OP is not willing to wait that long.For others, whenever someone says here that US green card is tough to get, quantmeh comes in and starts telling stories how easy it is.
Last edited by quantinenergies on June 27th, 2012, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

creditRisky
Topic Author

June 28th, 2012, 2:45 am

So, how long would issuing a Canadian H1B (work visa, not perm residency) take

EscapeArtist999

June 28th, 2012, 8:32 am

QuoteOriginally posted by: creditRiskySo, how long would issuing a Canadian H1B (work visa, not perm residency) takeIsn't this something thatthe company making the offer would take care of? (provided of course you accept)

quantinenergies

June 28th, 2012, 2:28 pm