SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

figoliuxi
Topic Author

How do you guys thing of this job?

July 5th, 2012, 12:48 am

Hi guys,I am a master student in financial math. And I recently got an internship/part-time job. But the job seems not related to financial market. It actually relates to sports game. And the primary responsibility is to manage, develop, and refine algorithms, databases, statistical validation frameworks and backend systems to support analytic products and services. How do you guys think that this working experience would help me to get a real quantitative analyst job in financial market upon graduation? Or do you guys think that the hiring manager in quant role will appreciate internship experience like this? I actually have tried to apply some quant internship but no reply. Maybe because I am lacking of experiences. I appreciate you guys' advice and opinions.
Last edited by figoliuxi on July 4th, 2012, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bearish

July 5th, 2012, 1:22 am

What is wrong with with sports analytics? It may very well have a better future than traditional quant jobs.

figoliuxi
Topic Author

July 5th, 2012, 1:46 am

Thanks, bearish. Yeah, sports analysis is very interesting and has great future. Actually there is a science of football. But my career plan is to do quantitative finance like pricing instruments. I just want to gain some technical experience and data analysis experience in this job. And I was wondering whether quant finance industry will treat this experience as a plus.

ppauper

July 5th, 2012, 8:12 am

betting ?

Eriatarka

July 5th, 2012, 8:25 am