Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

ElysianEagle
Topic Author

need some career advice - from NYC to Poland?

July 6th, 2012, 10:01 pm

i currently work in risk IT at an IB here in NYC. i'm not a quant developer but do work on risk systems and the latest project has had me writing the core code for a rather large, firmwide project involving data virtualization and caching. basically i'm a pure dev, just happen to be doing it at an IB right now.an opportunity has presented itself wherein the bank would move me to wroclaw, poland on a 2 yr assignment in which i'd be tasked with being the technical lead there and also building out the team. at this point in time they're not sure if they want me as the tech lead with another person doing more of the admin/managerial work, or if they want me to do both the tech+management leadership. this would be significantly determined by my pitch to my superiors on monday. once there, i would know by far the most of anyone about the systems in use at the bank which is what makes me a strong candidate.my question is, is leaving NYC to go to poland for a couple yrs a good idea? how would it look on my resume? when i come back (and yes, i do intend on coming back), would my prospects be diminished in the job market here? currently i'm just a regular dev, no great title attached. by taking on this role in poland i'd be promoted and would of course get to put a much more significant title on my resume.comp-wise they'd be paying me what's competitive locally, which means in absolute dollars i'd be making lesser, but because of the lower cost of living i'd still be saving more and thus coming out ahead.other concerns are mainly lifestyle related. i really do love NYC, it's an incredible city and i'd definitely miss it. i don't speak a word of polish and while i'm not old (currently 28), im not a college kid either and would have to start from scratch making friends and such. on the plus side i'd get to do a good bit of traveling aro