SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

Mokon
Topic Author

Industry Transition Questions

February 15th, 2013, 12:13 am

I'm currently a software engineer working in the networking industry but I am looking to make a transition into the finance industry. I am specifically interested in high frequency trading, low latency, and quant development type roles as those areas fascinate me. I'm hoping to get some feedback from everyone here about how to best position myself in my search.So a little background on myself. I'm a very strong software engineer with extensive experience in c and c++. I graduated at the top of my class (gpa 3.83, in major 3.9, computer science) from a decent school (but it wasn't a Stanford or MIT, more of a tier 2...). I have 8 years of experience in the computer networking industry. I have several patents pending and I'm an author on an RFC. I currently work at a well known company as a protocols software engineer both implementing networking protocols (switching and routing) and working with the IETF, a standardization body. I have strong experience in embedded/systems programming and I have also worked in a software architecture role in several of my projects. I am strong in OO principles. I've done graduate work in AI, specifically heuristic search.Now some of weaknesses come in that I have zero professional experience in the finance industry. I have a personal interest trading/finances and have read some but I am certainly lacking in this area.From this overview of myself I'm curious about some of your thoughts on where my current skill set would be most valuable in the areas I am interested. I'm hoping to leverage my networking skills in the finance industry but what roles do you guys think I should focus on?I also recently took java and c# off my resume, because while I do know them I haven't used them in 2 years or so now. I thought it was better just to focus on the what I am up to date in since any programmer worth their salt who d