SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

ftang
Topic Author

Any traders here?

March 7th, 2013, 8:00 pm

I am a trader with MFE background, trading options in sell side. I can understand most of the model derivations and have decent c++/excel skills. but never worked as a quant, because I was hired as a trader when graduated from MFE.Now if I lose my job, where can I go? You probably thinking: well, go find another trader job. Well, I am afraid the answer is not quite simple. Anyway would like to hear what people think, thanks.

slacker

Any traders here?

March 7th, 2013, 11:17 pm

how many years trading? if you have been doing it for a few years why go into quant now? Target strategist , risk advisory type roles on buy side.

DevonFangs

Any traders here?

March 8th, 2013, 11:27 am

Just consider that there must be a reason why quants actually want to be traders. You could move to market risk management, many of those guys are ex traders.I love the combination "decent c++/excel skills"

ftang
Topic Author

Any traders here?

March 8th, 2013, 1:35 pm

Sell side is shrinking, some traders left, bonus cut, activities down, etc.Not saying quant is what I really prefer to be, but it is a skill that many other traders don't have.

DevonFangs

Any traders here?

March 9th, 2013, 4:45 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: ftangSell side is shrinking, some traders left, bonus cut, activities down, etc.Not saying quant is what I really prefer to be, but it is a skill that many other traders don't have.What's the median trader's bonus in tier 1 and how does that compare to, say, 2006?

ftang
Topic Author

Any traders here?

March 10th, 2013, 12:50 am