SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

psibladeZX
Topic Author

How to get a desk quant job if you're in the back office tech?

March 19th, 2013, 10:53 pm

I have a masters in economics and a masters in quantitative finance (got both simultaneously in 2011). The only job I could find at the time (when looking in the fall of 2010, with a start date of June 2011) was the technology analyst program at B of A Merrill Lynch. So, out of desperation, I took it because I didn't have any other interviews in quant, let alone offers (this was the only offer). I got placed into counterparty credit risk technology where I do mostly business analysis and they're re-focusing my group to be pure developers (full life cycle development). I've been looking pretty hard to get a proper quant job (preferably on a desk) with not much luck (trying direct applications, headhunters, and networking). I've been told that market risk is the way to go to interact with the trading desk. So my first question is, is market risk really the way to go to talk to the trading desk? Is there no hope of getting on a desk directly?I'm not really a tech guy and don't really care about data flow and batch automation... I just want to go from being a cost center to be a revenue generator. So, my second question is, do the longer I stay in tech, the worse it is for me? I'm already 30 and do not want to be pidgeon-holed as a third master's in hopes of a career change is a little undoable for me at this point. I'm trying to figure out what the most efficient, least time consuming path is, to get to a trading desk. Any help/advice/contacts would be greatly appreciated.

neuroguy

March 20th, 2013, 5:42 am