SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

Westminster
Topic Author

From Oil & Gas modelling to IT Quant ?

February 4th, 2014, 12:02 pm

Hi,I am looking for advice but couldn't find topics about a situation similar to mine, so I'll ask here:My situationMy wife works for a bank. She's not in quantitative finance, but her career is going to make us live in the same places as if she were. Therefore, for me to cope with her geographical mobility, I am considering joining the financial industry too. I would like to know what the next step would be for me to prepare and make it happen.My backgroundI am 33. I graduated 10 years ago from a French "école d'ingénieurs" (Mines Paris) with a strong background in maths (stats, algebra, proba) among other things. Since graduation, I have worked in R&D in maths & programming, first in HPC for an oil & gas major, now for a start-up in artificial intelligence. Over these years, my daily job has been research work, data analysis, modelling and prototyping. I have constantly worked in teams of multidisciplinary people from MIT, Ecole Polytechnique or their equivalent, at the interface of business (not too academic), maths and computer science. I love that environment and want to keep it that way.I have been considering moving to Finance for a bit more than 6 months now. I first tested the water with John Hull's book before going through Koralov and Sinai "Theory of Probability and Random Processes", more challenging but still OK. All that to say that I am comfortable diving into financial maths. I even enjoyed the exercises. If you have other books or "tests" more in line with that QF maths are today, please let me know.On the programming side, I like programming. I am decent in Python, Fortran, C/C++ with a background in HPC and science. I can push some code pretty far in the context of my work, but of course, I know my limitations and I have always been able to rely on dedicated talented experts to turn prototypes into optimized