Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

DGWK
Topic Author

Best place to start a quant career?

February 10th, 2014, 10:01 pm

Where would you advise someone fresh out of the PhD, with no background in quant finance, to start his/her career?More specifically, I am interested in moving into the more traditional quant job of derivative pricing, but I have no background in this besides having read the classic books (Baxter & Rennie, Hull, Paul Wilmott...).I have a PhD in applied math and a decent C++ programming background (at least for an entry-level position). I am currently being interviewed for various roles including: FX, credit, corporate treasury, and a statistical arbitrage hedge fund. 1) Which one of them is my best entry point? 2) Which desks (in general) would you consider to have the most "broad and transferable knowledge" in quant finance?

ThinkDifferent

February 11th, 2014, 8:04 am

QuoteOriginally posted by: DGWKWhere would you advise someone fresh out of the PhD, with no background in quant finance, to start his/her career?civil/electrical/biological engineering.
Last edited by ThinkDifferent on February 10th, 2014, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DevonFangs

February 11th, 2014, 9:54 am

QuoteOriginally posted by: ThinkDifferentQuoteOriginally posted by: DGWKWhere would you advise someone fresh out of the PhD, with no background in quant finance, to start his/her career?civil/electrical/biological engineering.not if you're from london, and want to stay in london

DGWK
Topic Author

February 12th, 2014, 9:17 am