SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

Nima
Topic Author

MFE after a PhD

February 20th, 2014, 11:00 am

I am currently a postdoc in EE at a top university in the Nordic region. I am thinking about moving to quant. Finance as I found the field quite interesting, challenging, intellectually stimulating, and with more vivid impact on real-world than Academia as well as a better job prospect. My programming experience is limited to Matlab and Python with limited experience in C++ (not Object oriented).I have got admission for Fin. Math. from LSE and Quant. Fin. From Cass Business School (got rejected from Imperial and Warwick), but I am not sure if it is a right decision to pursue an MFE after a PhD in EE. My goal is get a job after in London or Copenhagen.Would you recommend me doing an MFE? What about doing CQF?
Last edited by Nima on February 19th, 2014, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hansi

MFE after a PhD

February 20th, 2014, 11:44 am

Personally I think the MFE will be a better option than CQF and from what I've heard LSE's program has a better rep than Cass'.Don't know the Denmark job market at all so can't comment on that, maybe the MFE isn't needed and you can get a job with your current credentials + self study?But for London it the same is possible but very hard and the MFE will make it easier.

MattF

MFE after a PhD

February 20th, 2014, 12:56 pm

QuoteOriginally posted by: HansiPersonally I think the MFE will be a better option than CQF and from what I've heard LSE's program has a better rep than Cass'.Really? I've heard the opposite. I've also met quite a few Cass masters grads working in the City but no LSE ones AFAIK. (Of course not a statistically valid sample size.)If you study at LSE or Cass I'd regard the time as an extended job search. You wont find the course very difficult so concentrate on job-hunting.

Hansi

MFE after a PhD

February 20th, 2014, 3:20 pm