Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

Tini
Topic Author

PhD advise

March 2nd, 2016, 3:59 pm

Hi all.I am a MSc student who have just received two offers for two different programmes I really like.1) MathSys CDT in the math dep of Warwick2) Financial computing and analytics CDT in computer science dep at UCLBoth of these programme I will work on complexity science and I think in both of them I will be able to enjoy the subjects I will study.Now I was wandering which of these two opportunity will give more chances of getting a job in a top tier hedge found (or IB/consultancy firm) in the case I will be sick of academia after another 4 years in it. I am not sure what I will do in the future so I am asking just to make a decision consciously of all the opportunity of one uni over the other.Thanks in advance for the answers.

Alan

PhD advise

March 2nd, 2016, 7:23 pm

I looked briefly -- I'd say 2) is by far your best choice. On contacts alone, it looks like 90+% of the students and faculty at 2) are financed-oriented (many good and well-known), while maybe 10% or less of 1) are.
Last edited by Alan on March 1st, 2016, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tini
Topic Author

PhD advise

March 2nd, 2016, 11:46 pm

About the uni itself? which one is most considered?

Alan

PhD advise

March 3rd, 2016, 12:33 am

Beats me -- one for the locals.

katastrofa

PhD advise

March 3rd, 2016, 1:23 pm