Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

Paul
Topic Author

What is asymptotic analysis and how is it used in financial modeling?

March 1st, 2005, 3:48 pm

..such as SABR. Inspired by terrorbyte.P

J

March 10th, 2005, 2:42 am

Very good question!!!!I am not an expert in asymptotic analysis. "Martingale" may be one of good candidates to give the best anwer.My understandiing is that asymptotical analysis is to analyze the limite behavior of a random experiment. Using MC simulation to comput the expectation of payoff is an example I can think.

Cuchulainn

March 11th, 2005, 8:17 am

QuoteOriginally posted by: JVery good question!!!!I am not an expert in asymptotic analysis. "Martingale" may be one of good candidates to give the best anwer.My understandiing is that asymptotical analysis is to analyze the limite behavior of a random experiment. Using MC simulation to comput the expectation of payoff is an example I can think.Under AA do you mean Singular Perturbation problem in which you have SDE with different time scales for example? For example, a PDE with very small VOL is effectively a 1st order deterministic equation, that kind of idea.Do you have specifics?

Paul
Topic Author

March 11th, 2005, 11:49 am

Asymptotic analysis is about exploiting a large or small parameter to find simple(r) solutions/expressions. You may have a complicated integral that is much nicer if you approximate it. Or a pde that can be solved if you can throw away some of the terms. In finance there have been several examples:1. Transactions costs. You can find nonlinear pdes for option prices when there are costs of hedging. The pdes can often be simplified if you exploit the smallness of costs.2. SABR. Pat Hagan's model assumes small drift and vol of rates so you can do an expansion like Taylor series.3. Fast drift and high vol in stochastic vol models. These are a bit more complicated, singular perturbation problems. To be discussed another time perhaps!P

Cuchulainn