Paul
Topic Author

Mathematica vs Matlab vs Maple, discuss

August 30th, 2006, 4:38 pm

Thanks to Alan.P

ppauper

August 31st, 2006, 1:17 pm

used both maple and mathematica for computer algebra, didn't find too much difference between them. Slightly different syntax, but you get over that fairly quickly

actuaryalfred

August 31st, 2006, 9:53 pm

The symbolic toolbox in Matlab is nice too. I always try to use it first before using Mathematica. I haven't used Maple so nothing could be said about that.For numerical stuff, Matlab is definitely better than Mathematica.

Alan

September 1st, 2006, 4:44 am

QuoteOriginally posted by: actuaryalfredFor numerical stuff, Matlab is definitely better than Mathematica.If you are talking about run-times could you post a few simple examples wherethe difference is dramatic? If you are talking about other issues, please elaborate.

TooNeat

September 1st, 2006, 6:54 am

Sir. Alan:Since I am a newbie on this forum, could you do me a favor for you to be a little more specific about the issue?I couldn't figure out what are you talking about!?TooNeat

Alan

September 1st, 2006, 6:10 pm

My question made it sound like I had a specific issue in mind. I didn't. I was just asking actuaryalfred to elaborate on his remark. I know, as a Mathematica user, that Mathematica numerics seem faster these days than they were, say, 5 years ago (beyond clock speed improvements) and that WolframRI has worked on this.But as I am not a Matlab user, I can't compare them on my machines, and don't know ifcomparable speed improvements have been happening there.
Last edited by Alan on August 31st, 2006, 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AVt

September 3rd, 2006, 6:05 pm