Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

zill
Topic Author

Does quantitative trading really work?

November 23rd, 2010, 10:17 pm

To begin, I am a pure math student but with no finance background at all. Now the question, suppose I was to read and understand very well 20 of the most highly regarded quantitative finance books around and be able to do most of the exercises in them etc. Could I then apply (some of the less risky) strategies in those books and consistently make money (at modest returns, say 5% more than what a bank would offer if I had put my money in a bank account) in the markets be it derivatives, bonds or whatever? Let's also assume that I was to work really hard on learning the theory and doing the research on data etc.Any input would be welcomed.
Last edited by zill on November 22nd, 2010, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

acastaldo

November 24th, 2010, 2:20 am

Do you think that if you read 20 modern Chemistry books you will be able to turn lead into gold?Do you think that if you read 20 books about tennis you will be able to win Wimbledon and marry Elena Dementieva?Pick up just one (not 20) Finance textbooks and get a feel for what modern Finance is; you will see that it (surprisingly to you) does not really consist of easy recipes for making money.

DevonFangs

November 24th, 2010, 6:53 am

i) Often the only way QF can help you make money is by getting you a job (in which you don't actually have to trade anything)ii) IMHO "reading and understanding well" 20 books can take a lifetime. But obviously this depends on the definition of "well".iii) What books should I read to get to marry Dementieva?
Last edited by DevonFangs on November 23rd, 2010, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DevonFangs

November 24th, 2010, 6:53 am

farmer

November 24th, 2010, 11:06 am