Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

JohnLeM
Topic Author

Darwin awards for mathematicians ?

February 6th, 2021, 5:39 pm

Is there any equivalent of Darwin awards for mathematicians ? I think that it does not. So, should we propose one ? If yes, we have to give it a name. Any suggestions ? Here is a first interesting link, would you like to start discussing this topic.

Paul

Re: Darwin awards for mathematicians ?

February 6th, 2021, 7:45 pm

I guess the equivalent would be that they did some research so dumb that they lost all of their students. Thus removing their ideas from the math gene pool.

Cuchulainn

February 6th, 2021, 8:23 pm

J. Mercer 1909.

katastrofa

February 6th, 2021, 10:01 pm

I studied mathematics at the Institute of Mathematics of Polish Academy of Sciences. Only the youngest assistants retained a vestige of sanity. The older guys were all crazy in their special ways...
It runs in the tribe for centuries. I like ancient stories the most. Spiced up with the dust of ages:
1. Archimedes - didn't know now to mess with Roman soldiers
2. Pythagoras - considered himself the son of gods, etc.
3. Hippasus - didn't know not to mess with Pythagoreans - drowned for proving the existance of irrational numbers.

katastrofa

February 6th, 2021, 11:08 pm

Nash and Goedel
And Singh, whom the gods told that E is not mc^2. A cautionary tale for Collector ;-)

Paul

February 7th, 2021, 2:46 am

Are any of these in the spirit of the Darwin awards though?

katastrofa

February 7th, 2021, 9:31 am

I think so, according to several possible interpretations of JLM's proposal: some of the above got themselves killed for doing mathematics and some were branded insane for their theories and claims. Obviously, the survivor bias (or its opposite in this case) won't let us recognise the most worthy contenders.
Last edited by katastrofa on February 7th, 2021, 9:42 am, edited 2 times in total.

JohnLeM
Topic Author

February 7th, 2021, 9:36 am