Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

blade
Topic Author

Finite difference - CFD technique

December 30th, 2004, 9:41 am

Just thought I'd share the benefits of some C++ coding I did with the forum. Before I worked in finance, I worked for a few years in a CFD (computational fluid dynamics) company. I took one of the basic finite difference discretisation schemes (MacCormack scheme) used for around 15 years in CFD and a implemented a numerical solution to Black-Scholes. This scheme is fully explicit so lends itself easily to american style exercise, but is second order accurate in time and space, just like Crank-Nicholson. I used two forms, the non-conservative (NC) form which most people are used to seeing, and the conservative formulation (C), which should help to reduce some of the error due to discretisation in S. For a call option with K = 80.0, sigma = 0.3, r ( risk-free rate ) = 0.07, S = 100 and T = 0.5, I get the following analytic resultAnalyticValue = 23.758, Delta = 0.907077, Gamma = 0.0078387, theta = -8.21389and the following result for the non-conservative formulation. Numerical ( NC ) - dS = 0.1, solution time 103.819sValue = 23.758, Delta = 0.907076, Gamma = 0.00783868, theta = -8.21388Numerical ( NC ) - dS = 1.0, solution time 0.032349sValue = 23.7583, Delta = 0.907054, Gamma = 0.00783643, theta = -8.21291Numerical ( NC ) - dS = 5.0, solution time 0.000827sValue = 23.7357, Delta = 0.906996, Gamma = 0.00777608, theta = -8.19161What can be seen is that the result is pretty much spot on for dS = 0.1, but is also pretty accurate for large time steps such as 1.0, with a solution time sub 1 second, and even dS = 5.0 with a solution time of sub 1-millisecond. The conservative results are shown below:Numerical ( C ) - dS = 0.1, solution time 195.699sValue = 23.758, Delta = 0.907077, Gamma = 0.00783868, theta = -8.21388Numerical ( C ) - dS = 1.0, solution time 0.090287sValue = 23.7582, Delta = 0.907057, Gamma = 0.00783633, theta = -8.2128Numerical (