SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

DevonFangs
Topic Author

Quanto CDS trading

October 18th, 2010, 9:56 am

Scenario: Fed uses QE and ECB doesn't.Then CDX outperforms iTraxx and EUR appreciates v. USD.Bullish -> short CDX protection in EURBearish -> long iTraxx protection in EURIs it? If I'm bearish I don't buy protection on CDX to avoid being wrong way, correct?I know, I'm a rookie.

dvl84

Quanto CDS trading

October 19th, 2010, 8:13 am

Makes sense to me.. Assume QE will make credit rally you'll see CDX going tighter vs Itraxx when you get QE in the US and not in europe, apart from that eur will appreciate because the fed is printing money.short CDX protection is correct / you can do this in EUR to make sure your relative notional won't decrease and your carry will keep it's valuelong Itraxx protection is corect / if you put this against the CDX trade you should do it in EUR too

Ziggy

Quanto CDS trading

October 19th, 2010, 3:50 pm