Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

falcon00
Topic Author

What are some engineering topics that can help with quantitative trading?

January 15th, 2011, 5:42 am

I have spoken with the guy that started Tradebot the 3rd largest liquidity provider in the US. He launched that company after spending 3 months in his basement coding. His background is in software development. I know at some schools the computer science program is heavily steeped in engineering.He wrote an algorithm that has some 200+ parameters that can be adjusted in real time. I have NO idea what those 200 parameters could possibly be. I could not even guess. The algos I write have like at most 10 parameters. I was wondering if it was possible that his engineering training helped him design something so complex and if so what those topics might be.I have spent the last year learning mathematics because my background is in business (IT and finance). I am now starting to explore other topics that might help with algo trading. So far I was thinking maybe Process Control and someone in another forum suggested Signal Processing. Anybody have any input on these two topics or some others I may want to explore?

Traden4Alpha

January 15th, 2011, 1:38 pm

Personally, I aspire to fewer rather than more parameters. Anyone can fit market data to a 200th-order polynomial, get a great fit in backtesting, and suffer 0 predictive power in live trading. The more parameters, the greater the danger of overfitting unless one has a strong process for estimating the CONSTANT parameters that is independent of market data.As for other topics, I'd look at probability density estimation and operations research (for solving allocation problems). Data visualization can be a fun/useful topic, but one needs to be careful because it is extremely easy to see patterns where none exist.

falcon00
Topic Author

January 15th, 2011, 7:43 pm