Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

maxw
Topic Author

HFT Algorithms

December 4th, 2013, 2:16 am

Hello All,I'm new to hft (have collocated box in NYC). I just got started in August with little success. I had been researching and implemented about 10 strategies which relied on pattern recognition, machine learning, beysian algorithms, random motion prediction as well as some artificial intelligence. All failed miserably. I did try triangular arbitrage recently as I'm mainly in forex. The problem here is execution. Sometimes you get stuck one position in when you have two more to go and then you have to back out while making a loss. Price correction happens very quickly even orders within 30 milliseconds won't be of any help sometimes. So now I want to start from a more informed starting point. What are algorithms hft folk use ... in general terms or specific if you care to share.Sincerely,MAXW

jige

HFT Algorithms

December 4th, 2013, 4:46 pm