Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

goldpill17
Topic Author

How much does a math degree help in Finance?

March 30th, 2018, 6:06 pm

I am currently studying mathematics and Statistics,plus a degree in Banking and finance. I want to know how much value is placed on knowledge of topics in Optimization/linear and non linear programming for constrained and unconstrained minimization problems, stochastic dynamic programming? Graph theory and networks design, applied probability, numerical analysis, statistical modeling, operational research, number theory, stochastic dynamics? How useful are these, or how valued are they in finance? Basically, how valuable is math to finance?

bearish

Re: How much does a math degree help in Finance?

March 31st, 2018, 2:10 am