Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

galvinator
Topic Author

Recommendation on Quantitative Finance Research Papers for Undergraduates

September 14th, 2018, 11:51 am

Hi, 

My name is Galvin and I am a university Freshman. 

As part of my university's curriculum, I have been tasked to prepare a popular science article on a mathematics research paper. The target audience of the popular science article is the general public. I would like to write a science article based on a topic from Quantitative Finance/ Mathematical Finance. 

However, I am unable to understand many of the research articles found on arXiv.org. As such, may I kindly ask the Wilmott community for recommendations on any Quantitative Finance or Mathematical Finance research papers that can be understood by undergraduates? Any research papers on similar topics that are "undergraduate friendly" would also be appreciated. 

I have a basic understanding of undergraduate calculus, linear algebra and real analysis.

Thank you for your attention.

Yours sincerely,
Galvin 
Last edited by galvinator on September 15th, 2018, 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ppauper

Re: Recommendation on Quantitative Finance Research Papers for Undergraduates

September 14th, 2018, 1:24 pm

have you done ODE and/or PDE?
what about the original Black Scholes paper?

Cuchulainn

September 14th, 2018, 3:12 pm

In addition to ppauper's suggestion you could complement using PDE (article for the benefit of pure mathematicians).

https://www.maths.tcd.ie/pub/ims/bull75/Duffy.pdf

If you have time you could try Monte Carlo. Here's the original MC article by Phelim Boyle.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... via%3Dihub

3 solutions

bearish

September 14th, 2018, 10:49 pm