Serving the Quantitative Finance Community

Austriarian
Topic Author

Practice to theory (Students)

January 24th, 2020, 4:52 pm

Howdy there, 

I'm a mathematics student and I've decided to dive into the realm of finance. I'm looking for some guidance as to where I should place my energy over the next few months to a year if i'm to develop a skill that would make me a useful little intern. My uni has a program that allows one to work anywhere in the world as said intern for up to a year and a half, essentially an apprenticeship model.  

Programming seems to be the necessary hard-skill and right now i'm learning python. Obviously, I would appreciate some "don't do's" and "please don't step there's". Guidance from practitioners. 

On that note, after i've built a good grasp of the fundamentals what would the next step look like? Diving into algorithms of all shapes and sizes? If so what kinds? Maybe different types of data structures? Again, what's used and what isn't? 

I do understand that much of this is a function of my goals, right now I need to build a skill that could grant me access to a multitude of spaces, I.e. gives me optionality. Though the spaces that interest me now are the ones with an inherent entrepreneurial focus. 

Also, I would appreciate any other suggestions as well, such as; soft-skills, authors, essential texts, and other resources. 

Thank you very much, I look forward to some wisdom! 

Cuchulainn

Re: Practice to theory (Students)

January 24th, 2020, 5:14 pm

C++ is king. 

https://quantnet.com/cpp/

BTW how do you think that mathematics is useful in finance? What's your favourite maths areas?

Austriarian
Topic Author

January 24th, 2020, 6:04 pm

Thanks for the heads up. 

Maths in its formal academic sense is probably pretty useless in finance (i've heard and i'm inclined to believe until I see it myself).