SERVING THE QUANTITATIVE FINANCE COMMUNITY

dionysius
Topic Author

Do quant strategies add value to the world?

November 15th, 2008, 11:51 pm

Hello there. I'm a PhD student studying financial mathematics, and considering a career as a quant. One thing that is bothering me about this career track, is that I'm having a hard time seeing just how quants add value to our world.Take for example high frequency trading strategies. If an investor buys and hold a security for a long time (a la Buffett), then he or she is helping the company expand. But when someone employs high frequency trading, he's not being an investor. He's merely aiding in "price discovery". While this IS a benefit, is it such a great benefit that the trader deserves 6 figure salaries? I'm not convinced.Certainly, there are other quant jobs out there. Somebody had to rate CDOs for example. Now, I'm not against CDOs, but their highly publicized blowups come in the heels of other financial crisis aided by other inventions by quants (e.g. Long Term Capital Management). The unintended consequences of these instruments came about because very few people actually grasped the full consequences and the risks of using these models. Can we as human beings handle further financial innovations in the future? If not, maybe quants are doing a disservice to the rest of the human race by operating outside their realm of intellectual capacity?I hope you don't mind me asking these questions - they're a bit poignant but they hold some significance for me. Thank you.

ArthurDent

November 16th, 2008, 1:16 am